More than 60% of Coachella 2022’s artists were on the lineup for the 2020 festival


The Coachella Valley Music and Arts Festival announced the lineup for the 2022 edition on Wednesday Jan. 12, and new acts were added, a substantial number of artists stayed on board from the Coachella 2020 poster.

With the 2020 festival’s postponement due to the coronavirus pandemic, some changes to the lineup were to be expected.

Sign up for our Festival Pass newsletter. Whether you are a Coachella lifer or prefer to watch from afar, get weekly dispatches during the Southern California music festival season. Subscribe here.

The most notable differences are the headliners: Rage Against the Machine, Travis Scott and Frank Ocean were booked for 2020. Instead, Harry Styles, Billie Eilish and Ye (formerly Kanye West) will top the festival at the Empire Polo Club in Indio April 15-17 and April 22-24. There’s also the addition of Swedish House Mafia, which isn’t yet billed for any particular day on the 2022 poster.

Of the 178 artists announced for this year, 107, or just over 60%, were on the 2020 Coachella poster. The 2020 poster listed 175 artists. (Note: While 88rising was listed below the lineup’s individual days on the both 2020 and 2022 posters, we’re not counting that in the total for both years because 88rising’s individual artists are represented elsewhere on the poster.)

Some of the biggest names returning include Megan Thee Stallion, Run the Jewels, Doja Cat, Carly Rae Jepsen, Danny Elfman, Disclosure, Joji and Madeon.

However, there were also some other notable names from 2020 conspicuously missing from the 2022 poster, including Calvin Harris, Charli XCX, Lana Del Rey, DaBaby, FKA Twigs, Lil Nas X, Lil Uzi Vert and Rex Orange County.

On the visual arts side, it appears that the lineup is the same as 2020, with installations from Architensions, Do Lab, Newsubstance , Cristopher Cichocki, Kiki van Eijk, Los Dos, Estudio Normal, Robert Bose and Oana Stanescu.

These artists from the 2020 lineup are expected to perform at the 2022 festival:

21 Savage

100 gecs

Adam Port

Alec Benjamin

Ali Gatie

Amber Mark

Amyl and the Sniffers


Ari Lennox


Banda MS


Beach Bunny

Beach Goons


Big Sean

Bishop Briggs

Black Midi

Black Coffee




Stay connected with us on social media platform for instant update click here to join our  Twitter, & Facebook

We are now on Telegram. Click here to join our channel (@TechiUpdate) and stay updated with the latest Technology headlines.

For all the latest Music News Click Here 

Read original article here

Denial of responsibility! is an automatic aggregator around the global media. All the content are available free on Internet. We have just arranged it in one platform for educational purpose only. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials on our website, please contact us by email – [email protected]. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.
Leave a comment